Kick the “Bucket List!”

C.S. Lewis Do you have plans? A bucket list? Goals? Dreams?

Are they written down? Stored away in an old journal? Maybe even lost somewhere in between childhood (“I can do and be anything”) and adulthood (“I have bills to pay and children to raise)?

So, here’s the deal: If you are not striving and working towards a plan, a goal or a dream… you are just wandering around through this life. You are just waiting for life to happen.

Too many of us are just existing with the mentality of “someday”… Guess what? “SOMEDAY” does not exist!

STOP!!

(Yes, you heard that in my most loving of mother tones)

But seriously, folks… it is time to stop wandering and start LIVING!! Start creating the life you want to live… not someday, TODAY! 🙂

I get it, the bills still need to be paid and the kids still need to be raised. However, there is so much about each of our lives that need to lived… so much purpose that still needs to be fulfilled… so much joy that needs to overflow.

Many times during these last 6 years, I did not know where I was going or what I wanted. I had taken all of my previous dreams, thrown them out the window and just prayed, “Your will, God!”

Hmmm…. that is great on the surface; we should all be praying for God’s will in our lives, right?

Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart,” (Psalm 37:4)

May He give you the desire of your heart and make all your plans succeed. (Psalm 20:4)

But, if the verses above are true, and they are, then shouldn’t we be delighting in Him and praying for those desires in our hearts?

Right now, I am in the middle of reading several phenomenal books! I began reading The Circle Maker (by Mark Batterson) 19 months ago. Usually I finish a book right away, but not this one.

*sigh*

Here comes my confession.

I truly love this book; however, life kept getting in the way and I could not read it very often due to opening a new business. Months later I picked up the book again and began reading where I had left off earlier. It figures, though… I was in the middle of struggling within my new business, and I began reading the chapter dealing with unanswered prayers and when God says, “no.” Well, who needs that negativity in their life, right?  Not me! I put the book away and decided to finish reading it later. Yes, I knew God was probably talking directly to me, but I was on a mission to pray harder and work harder to make my “dream” business a success.

Guess where the book went? Yep… back on the shelf collecting dust.

Every once-in-a-while I would pull it back down, read a chapter and then put it away again. A few weeks ago I decided to keep reading until I finish it!

I love how God works. The 3 books I am currently reading are all speaking to me about the same idea: Goals! Not just a bucket list, plans or dreams… but true goals that have to be worked for, fought for, planned and executed, dreamed, and accomplished!!

Since my word for 2015 is LIVE, setting goals will ensure that I am truly living!! That I am participating instead of just spectating and striving each day to be a better person than the day before. That I am always reaching and continually growing… pushing myself for more!

Dr. Seuss I do not care if you are 18, 42, 60 or 90… if you do not have goals, stop today and begin your list!

Here are a few guidelines that Mark Batterson suggests:

1. Start with Prayer… our goals should ultimately glorify God.

2. Check your motives… they should not be selfish; go after them for the right reasons.

3. Think in categories… Mark has 5 categories: family, influential, experiential, physical, travel

4. Be specific… if our goals are not measurable, we have no way of knowing if they have been accomplished.

5. Write them down… if you have not written them down, you have not really set them.

6. Include others… goals are relational glue.

7. Celebrate along the way… when you accomplish a goal, celebrate!

8. Dream big… although you will want some small goals, dream big!! You will need some God-sized goals because big goals turn us into big people!

9. Think long… most of us overestimate what we can accomplish in 2 years but underestimate what we can accomplish in 10 years.

10. Pray hard… God-ordained goals are conceived in the context of prayer, and prayer is what brings them to term.

No more aimlessly walking through this life just waiting for life to happen. No more routine, predictability, and letting your circumstances dictate your life. Get up each day and make things happen! Plan each day so the baby steps you take will get you closer to your goals!

Just do it!

Here are just a few random personal goals I have:

To write a book about my journey.

To have a Hobbit/Lord of the Rings Adventure with my boys in New Zealand.

To drive Route 66.

To see the aurora borealis.

To pay off my children’s student loans.

To inspire and mentor young women.

To own my own house again!

To visit Australia and Paris with my Daughter.

To hold and rock babies in an African orphanage.

To take my children on an Alaskan adventure.

(the list will be forever growing)

I pray you live a very full life and may you find all the beauty that comes while trying to accomplish your goals!!

Please share some of YOUR goals in the comments section below; lets dream big together!

May you find the beauty in today,

Tara ♥

“He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~ Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~♥

Recent entries from my gratitude journal (to read more about this, click here):

557. Lunch with a dear old friend!

580. Closed doors that lead to new beginnings!

668. My Isaac’s eyes… they are intense, dark and beautiful… and those eyelashes!! WOW!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

