Experiencing the Magic

Mickey MouseFor my youngest son’s fourth birthday, we recently took him to Walt Disney World in Orlando, Florida! We had days planned from morning to night with reservations, character dinning, shows, and adventures. His actual birthday, the day we visited Magic Kingdom, was probably one of the best days of his life, so far. We were ecstatic!

Not only did we get to visit the theme parks, stay in an amazing resort hotel, eat with Mickey, Winnie-the-Pooh, and Stitch, but we got to see my daughter who has been there for the last two months as part of the Disney College Program. To keep track of our countdown, we printed calendars, hung them on the refrigerator with magnets, and each day, Isaac took his green crayon and marked a big X on the day. As the days got closer and closer, he began to get more and more excited!

However, there was only one problem. No matter how we tried to explain it, no matter how many pictures or videos we tried to show him, he continued to associate “Disney World” with the “Disney Store” at the mall. How do you get a four year old to understand that which he can not even begin to truly comprehend.

We just knew that he going to be blown away by this experience!

Cinderella's CastleHe was so excited to visit Cinderella’s Castle… that was the only picture he could imagine of Disney World. I could not wait to see the look in his eyes when he realized what all Disney World truly had to offer him and how amazing it was!

Throughout this experience, it has made me think of Heaven. What is our view of the great beyond… past the pearly white gates? Do we envision harps? Floating angels? Calm? Peace?

God gives us a few glimpses; but, honestly, we can not even begin to fully imagine all that He has for us. Folks, let me tell you, It Is Disney World!! (in the heavenly sense, of course!)

All we know is “Earth”… just earth. While it is absolutely amazing and breathtaking, it is nothing compared to what God has prepared for us!!

We live in a intricately designed world that displays God’s workmanship and beauty… but it is just the “Disney Store” in comparison.

 However, as it is written:

“What no eye has seen, what no ear has heard,
and what no human mind has conceived” the things God has prepared for those who love him.  (1 Corinthians 2:9)

Take my advice… Just be there!

Imagine how great it will be for the God of the universe, our Heavenly Father, to watch the expression on our faces and see the joy and excitement we have as we enter the place of His presence that He has prepared for us… as we enter Heaven!

Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. (John 14:6)

There is so much beauty both here on this earth and in our eternity with Christ. Just be there!

Oh, in just in case you were wondering… it was an amazing, dream-come-true vacation!!

CONTEMP_CHEFMICKEY1_7220549927

Disney Castle

Tree of Life, Animal Kingdom

Mickey!

STUDIO_VIPMOUSE_7221630471

Hollywood Studios

*And just a little shout-out to Walt Disney World… Everything they did was amazing! We were so thankful for the way they went above and beyond to take care of my sweet Isaac with his many food allergies and intolerances! We were introduced to each chef at the restaurants where we dined, and they did an incredible job to make sure he did not have any reactions! Their friendly staff members made each day such day so enjoyable! I continue to thank God for these memories that will last a lifetime!! 🙂

May you find the beauty in today,

Tara ♥

“He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~ Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~♥

Recent entries from my gratitude journal (to read more about this, click here):

513. Downtime!

524. Coffee-free!!

529. Two morning snow surprises!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Experiencing the Magic

  1. Eldritch Gah says:

    I’ve always loved Disney.
    Once when I was a kid I was so engrossed in watching the Mouse Factory that I didn’t hear my mother calling me. She threw a potato at me and hit me on the head.
    I kept walking around the house saying “gorsh” and hoping I would get a bump on my head like Goofy.

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

