Live Out Loud!

Well, it is that time again; time to choose a new word for 2015.

I have to be completely honest with you; the last 3 years have left me questioning and a bit frustrated, (scratch that) A LOT frustrated. Let’s rewind, shall we?

Miracles For 2012 and 2013 my word was MIRACLE. I was so excited as I prayed and believed big miracles for me, my family and our future. Although I did learn to appreciate and be thankful for all the many blessings in my life which allowed me to see small miracles, I never saw to fruition the big miracles in which I had hoped. So I prayed. I then believed that in order to see and witness the miracles, one must first have the faith!! Just small amounts of faith without doubt can move, heal and do the impossible, right? So that was my chosen word for 2014.

I have truly believed and have exerted great faith in many areas over the course of the last year; yet, I have felt let down and many times even abandoned.

*Sigh*

There are many things that have happened this year that have rocked me to the core; that have shaken my faith. Many tears have been shed and many questions have been asked to the One who controls all. I do not think I will understand most of them this side of Heaven; so, the lack of miracles despite great faith has left me wondering. I probably have it all backwards!

Perhaps my year of “Faith” has been a test? When everything that seems to point in one direction suddenly shifts… will I still keep the faith? When perfection seems within grasp, yet slips away… will my faith be strong enough not to fail me? When so many prayers are prayed, yet disappoint, grief, heartache and struggle prevail… will the roots of my faith be deep enough not to shake me off the solid ground upon which I stand?

I do not know… I had hoped for more!

Maybe my chosen words are building blocks? Each year builds upon the other. Maybe they will continue to merge together as God continues to work within me; as He continues to mold me over the course of my lifetime. God is definitely not bound with in the 365 days of our calendar year, right? Maybe looking back over the life lived, I will be able to have the 20/20 hindsight vision to see how these words and lessons have fit nicely into the mosaic puzzle as the person I needed to become. Maybe I will be able to see how it has played into a bigger story outside of just me. Maybe I need to always remember that this is a journey; some things just take time.

Now, back to today. I  have thought much about my word for 2015… many prayers.

For a while, I thought I would choose “Greater” as a reminder of just how big our God is. No matter what my situation is, He is greater. No matter how difficult things are, He is greater. No matter how much my faith is shaken, He is greater still.

However, I think that is my secondary word as I felt like I was given a word very profoundly one evening back before Christmas; it was as if the light bulb over my head lit up and I finally felt this was the perfect word for me.

*LIVE*

I want to LIVE.

Really LIVE! I want to Thrive!

Live

 

For the last 5 1/2 years, every day has been such a struggle in many different ways. I can sum it as “surviving” as that is what we have done… just survive.

Can you hear it? That song in my head?

“I… I will survive” 

(Okay… I will stop now before I get too carried away)

I have had many moments of “life” but  have worked so hard just to keep us breathing, fed, clothed and alive that I have forgotten how to live. I have taken breaths but forgotten how to breath deeply and savor. I have scheduled days of busyness but many times they were necessities and not experiences.

I want to step out into the wide, open air spaces, let go of the survival struggle and LIVE! I want to enjoy every moment, take nothing for granted, dance in the rain (okay, maybe not that… I hate to be wet!), truly stop and smell the roses and find every opportunity to LIVE this wonderful thing called life that we have so graciously been given.

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” (John 10:10, NIV)

This struggle has been a very important and necessary part of my journey; but I refuse to let it define me! It is time! It is time to move past my past. To grow in exciting, new directions. To take the off-beaten path. To step outside of my comfort zone. To do what I never thought possible. To no longer live the secondary life or be the victim. Instead to actually LIVE the life God has planned for me with a mentality of every moment counts instead of “survival till tomorrow and start all over again!”

Are you with me? Let’s truly LIVE this year and experience with open arms of anticipation all that God has for us!

No fear!

No reservations!

No regrets!

What will be your word for 2015? What word will help shape or challenge you this year? Pray God will impress upon your heart the word He has chosen for you over the next 350+ days?? Please share in the comments section below as I always love to read your thoughts!

May we all experience incredible joy, love, beauty and life in 2015! May we live and thrive beyond our expectations! 🙂

May you find the beauty in today,

Tara ♥

“He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~ Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~♥

Recent entries from my gratitude journal (to read more about this, click here):

500. Gorgeous Storm Clouds

503. My precious Isaac!

505. Courage!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Live Out Loud!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Very good Tara. Yes God wants us to enjoy life. Even in the midst of storms, we can choose joy and enjoy this life. My word for 2015 is “salvation”. Believing God for this to be the year to see salvation of many I’ve prayed for, some for over 30 years. Love you! Mom

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

