Singing The Song

YOU-MUST-GO-SEE-THIS-MOVIE!

The Song

Any questions? Good… now I will pause while you search for the nearest theatre and purchase your tickets online.

(*insert pause here)

Take all of your preconceived ideas of what a Christian based film looks like, throw it out the window and be prepared to thoroughly enjoy this movie!!

It is not preachy, but the message is powerful and true!

It is not afraid to be flirtatious, sexy and real!

The music is fabulous!! (You can download the soundtrack on I-tunes!!!)

The acting, cinematography and script rival Hollywood produced movies!!

Trust me… just go and enjoy it!

(Watch the trailer at the end of this blog post!!)

Many years ago, when I did some local and regional acting, I worked with City On A Hill Productions; they have written, produced and directed this movie. It has been amazing to see how far they have come over the last decade! They have put their heart and soul into their projects to help provide movies and resources to enrich people’s lives and help point them to Christ. Well done, City On A Hill Productions… Well done! (Standing Ovation!!)

(Check them out here: www.cityonahillproductions.com)

The Song movie is a take on the life of Solomon from the Bible. Solomon has the love of his life, his wife. However, he goes on a quest to have it all… only to later realize how much of what we long for here on earth, is meaningless.

The movie has two main female characters: Rose, the beautiful wife, and Shelby, the sultry temptress. I will not share the details of what transcribes as I do not want to share any spoilers and ruin the movie for those of you are wise enough to adhere to my advice and attend a showing of the movie. However, I will share a little bit of insight on how I have related to these characters.

When I as younger, I swore up and down I would never be divorced. I would never have an affair nor would I ever be the wife left behind. It just was not going to happen to me!

Never say never!

When I married my husband, he was the love of my life! The song I used to always sing was a little tribute to my new family (and yes, we had a newborn son)… it was “Danny’s Song” that so beautifully stated the following lyrics:

“And even though we ain’t got money,
I’m so in love with you, honey,
And everything will bring a chain of love.
And in the morning, when I rise,
You bring a tear of joy to my eyes
And tell me everything is gonna be alright.”

We were in marital bliss with our new family. Everything was going to be alright and together we had big dreams and plans! Life was good. Our marriage was good. And we were in love… nothing would ever change!

Fast forward many years… things changed.

As life continued, more children were born, jobs were terminated, dreams were deflated, expectations met failures, finances were strained, challenges were presented, pressures mounted… and the two main characters of “our story” changed as well!

I have to admit. There was a part of the “Shelby” character I liked; there was a part of her I saw in myself. I could have been “that woman!” After all, I played “The Temptress” for four years in our church’s Easter production. I could have crossed that line. I liked the attention from others… the looks… the flirtation. There were many times I thought I married the wrong the person or that I married too young. I wanted a little excitement and to test the waters…

No. I never crossed that line. But I could have!

And then there is Rose, the committed wife. There is so much about her character that I see within me during different parts of my marriage. There are many emotions she shows; I have been there, too!

And then there is the movie’s story. Yes, it may have been written for a screen,  but it is my story… it has been my life. (Minus the singing, of course! Oh, how I wish we had musical talent in this family; unfortunately, we can not carry tunes to save our lives!). It is so similar in so many ways that my dear friend who attended the movie with me later said she was afraid to look at me (haha)!!

This movie may be difficult to watch at times. However, it deals with issues, unfortunately, that many of us have faced. It deals with hard core battles people struggle with throughout their lives. Christians are not immune to the temptations and hardships this fallen world provides, but they are given the opportunity to gain strength, perseverance, forgiveness and redemption.

*Temptation is always around us. No one is above it. But with God, He always provides a way out!

No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear.   But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

I Corinthians 10:13 (NIV)

*He can heal and redeem all! He makes all things new: people… love… relationships… life!

And he that sat upon the throne said,Behold, I make all things new.And he said unto me, Write: for these words are true and faithful.

Revelation 21:5 (KJV)

If you are married or ever intend to be married… NEVER say never! Marriage is hard work! It can be very rewarding and beautiful when done God’s way… it takes a lot of effort, a lot of prayer, and a lot of God! You have to be intentional; you have to be All There!

The movie ends (yes, you must stay and watch all the credits to see this part) with a beautiful scene as the main character quotes Ecclesiastes 3:11… Hmmm, that just happens to be one of my favorite verses and the entire theme behind this blog! Oh, yeah… and it just happens to be the birth date of my precious, beautiful child #4)!

“He has made everything beautiful in its time…”

(Ecclesiates 3:11)

God truly makes beauty from ashes! May you find the beauty in every broken person, every strained relationship, every shattered dream and every disappointed life! God can make all things new!

 

 

See the movie and lets sing the praises of The Song together!

May you find the beauty in today, Tara ♥

“He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~ Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~♥

Recent entries from my gratitude journal (to read more about this, click here):

475. Oceans

481. Cool temperatures in the middle of the summer!

483. Faith increasing…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

