Ain’t No Mountain High Enough!

ONE song can spark a moment

ONE flower can wake the dream

ONE tree can start a forest

ONE bird can herald spring

ONE smile begins a friendship

ONE handclasp lifts a soul

ONE star can guide a ship at sea

ONE word can frame the goal

ONE vote can change a nation

ONE sunbeam lights a room

ONE candle wipes out darkness

ONE laugh will conquer gloom

ONE step must start each journey

ONE word must start a prayer

ONE hope will raise our spirits

ONE touch can show you care

ONE voice can speak with wisdom

ONE heart can know what is true

ONE life can make a difference

~Author Unknown

Many people believe that power lies within numbers… but I think the greatest power lies within one.

To start even the longest of journeys, you must begin with one step.

When there is one leader, many will follow.

To start a revolution, it begins with one: one idea, one person, one belief.

“ONE” of something can change a life.

So right now, right here… let’s choose ONE!

ONE WORD.

I wrote about this concept earlier this year (click HERE to read my post). In a nutshell, a friend of a friend of mine started encouraging people to choose ONE word for each year that would be personal and meaningful, a word which you could reflect and focus on for the upcoming year. When you choose the right word, it should challenge you, motivate you and maybe even scare you. (Click HERE to read more about the original One Word 365.)

So let’s pause to allow you some time to think of your word….

*Insert Jeopardy theme song here*

Got one? Good! (If not, just keep thinking.)

Well, since my life, heart and mind have become completely transparent for the world to read upon the pages of this blog, I will share mine with you!

*FAITH*

Yeah, it seems easy… almost like a cop-out. But I can assure you, it is not.

You see, for the past two years, I have chosen the word “Miracle”. I was at a place in my life where I was desperate to see some miracles. I prayed, I believed, and yes, I did see a few of them. I especially learned to see the everyday miracles God had blessed me with that I had taken for granted.

But I think there is more!

I believe that God (yes, that BIG GOD who lives up in the sky) is alive and well, and that He is the same God from yesterday as He is today! I believe that He still performs miracles today, just as He did thousands of years ago.

But over the last six months, God has really been stretching my faith. One of the things I wanted to accomplish while I was forty (click here to read that post) was to be known as a woman of FAITH. But how can you be known as a woman of faith unless He gives you situations in which your faith is stretched and put to the test?

“…Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed,

you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move.

Nothing will be impossible for you.” (Matthew 17:20)

If faith truly moves mountains, then I believe the mountains in my current and future paths are there for a reason. Some of them may require great faith before they can be moved! (Now do you understand why this word kinda scares me??)

Mountain

BEFORE the miracle… you have to have the FAITH! Not this little halfhearted, wimpy, quickly-pray-as-you-need-something faith… but earth-shaking, mountain-moving faith that takes God literally at His word. You have to have a faith that truly believes GOD IS WHO HE SAYS HE IS and that HE WILL DO WHAT HE SAYS HE WILL DO!!

I need to know this, to breathe this… to live this! I need more faith!

So I raise my glass and toast to 2014! I pray God will increase our faith, belief, hope and trust in Him! I pray hearts will be drawn close to him, relationships will be strengthened, those in mourning will be comforted and that so much joy will be overflowing that ALL will see how wonderful and glorious our God is! I pray that we will never take a single day for granted, and that we will continually show love to others! May we live each day with eternity in mind, and live to the fullest while here on earth!

HAPPY NEW YEAR! May 2014 be immeasurably more than all we could ask or imagine!

If you have chosen Your word for 2014, please leave me a comment below! Oh, and check back soon… I AM GETTING A FACELIFT!!! (… in a manner of speaking!)

In closing, I would like to dedicate this blog post to a very dear man and family friend, Jeff Stumph, and to his family. On December 31, 2013, Jeff lost his nine-month battle with cancer, and received his complete healing as he entered the gates of heaven! He was truly an amazing model of faith and what a Christian should be: the hands and feet of Christ! He became the “father” to the fatherless and poured out his life to help lead others to Jesus! Jeff was actually one of the potential miracles I had hoped my faith would see healed in 2014…. God’s plan may not always be our plan, but we trust Him through it all, even when we do not understand! I now pray that there will be much comfort for his wife, two children, grandchildren, extended family and friends! I pray their faith continues to grow, along with the faith of all the other countless individuals whose lives Jeff has impacted. Though he will be greatly missed here on earth, we look forward to a day of rejoicing when we are all reunited in Heaven! Thank you Jeff for showing Jesus to so many!

May you find the beauty in today,

Tara ♥

“He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~ Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~♥

Recent entries from my gratitude journal (to read more about this, click here):

388. Possibilities!!!

394. 1000

401. A fun dinner with my friend Jenny!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ain’t No Mountain High Enough!

  1. Keith Blanford says:

    Very good Tara!   Can you change these to come to our new email address.

  2. rachturner says:

    Happy New Year, Tara!

  3. Amen, Tara! Praying for more faith. Expecting miracles. My word for 2014 is Victory and the verse is Psalm 98:1, “O sing to the Lord a new song, for He has done wonderful things. His right hand and His holy arm have gained the victory for Him.”

    • Oh, Sweet Kristen, you are one of the miracles I pray for daily!! And yes, I will stand…praying and believing, that we will all be rejoicing in His victory as we witness your miracle! (someday I will have to share with you a little “God Story” regarding the timing of your post on this blog!!!) So much love to you and your family! 😉

      • UPDATE: VICTORY! Kristen Sauder, age 45, of Louisville, KY passed away on January 22, 2014 after a courageous fight with cancer. Kristen encompassed with every fiber of her mind, body, and soul the words of the Apostle Paul who said “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day”. (the above was an excerpt from Kristen’s obituary)… Kristen, you will be dearly missed by so many! Thank you for your wonderful example of how to love Jesus!

  4. Mike Fisk says:

    Great post Tara. Have a blessed,safe and Happy New Year in Jesus. A friend of mine just entered Jesus’ arms last week as a result of cancer. I have prayed for Jeff’s family as I write this Blessings

  5. Anonymous says:

    My word for 2014 is “appointments”. God has confirmed it to me 3 times w/in the 1st few days of 2014. From 2 devotional journals: 1) ”
    God has appointments for us. Let’s not miss them….” 2) “…now it’s up to you to recognize the opportunities & meet each appointment God has for you.” 3) Listening to 1 remark about a “divine appointment” that led to them coming to Christ. (I pray in 2014 I not miss any appointments my God has for me!) I love you! Mom (Linda Blanford)

    • A very good word for all of us for 2014! I wonder what we have missed out on because we failed to see the appointments God had for us? How much of a difference could it have made in not only our lives… but perhaps in the lives of those around us!!

  6. Pingback: The Measure of a Life… | createdtobebeautiful

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

