Word Up!

You can change your world by changing your words…

Remember, death and life are in the power of the tongue. (Joel Osteen)

BLOG

It has been a while.

My heart has been heavy, my life has been busy… thus, the screen has remained blank.

I have felt overwhelmed. Not within my own life, but in regards to some very special people who are feeling the heaviness of this broken world.

I sit. I stare.

There is so much to say, so many thoughts swirling within my mind… yet there are no words. For those of you who know me, this is a rarity. I always have words… usually too many of them for my own good! But when the heart is heavy, it can be difficult to express one’s thoughts to the outside world.

So I just sit. Stare. Think. Pray. Cry….

2012 was a good year for me and my children. It was not perfect, but we began seeing some promises fulfilled that I believe God has given me. We continued to grow closer to each other and stay focused on the little things that matter in our lives. There was much healing….

2012 was also a year of heartache for some very dear people I know, as well as for others whom I have never met.

Cancer. Widow. Fatherless. Emergency. Newtown, Connecticut. Tragedy. Fear.

*sigh*

These are all words I was unprepared to hear. They are words that have forever been etched into the hearts and souls of those around me. Many I just don’t understand, yet I choose to still hope and trust in the One who does. Many don’t make sense, but His ways are not our ways. Many seem unfair, but I only see the immediate, small chapter… He sees the whole story.

I…  we, live in a very broken world; these words are around every corner and can cause us to feel overwhelmed, saddened and confused. We are left with a choice: we can choose to only focus on the negative words that surround us, or we can choose to replace these words with an entirely new vocabulary.

Faith. Hope. Light. Trust. Healing. Comfort. Blessings. Joy. Love.

There is a fellow blogger I know of that developed “One Word 365” based on the concept that each new year (or any time you happen upon the website) you choose One Word that will personally guide, shape and encourage that particular year, just for you.

Last year, for 2012, my word was MIRACLE.

This year, for 2013, my word remains MIRACLE!

In Noah Webster’s 1828 American Dictionary of the English Language (an incredible dictionary given to my son as a gift), the word Miracle is defined as the following: 1. Literally, a wonder or wonderful thing; but appropriately, 2. In theology, an event or effect contrary to the established constitution and course of things, or a deviation from the known laws of nature; a supernatural event. Miracles can be wrought only by Almighty power, as when Christ healed lepers, saying, “I will, be thou clean,” or calmed the tempest, “Peace, be still.”

(I love that definition!)

I need miracles in my life, and in the lives of those whom I know! God-sized, impossible miracles that only the Almighty One can perform!

Oh, there were many in 2012… but I believe this was just the beginning!

I pray… believing, trusting and walking in faith for my son to be healed, for several of those I know to walk cancer free, for impossible opportunities to come to fruition, for joy to overwhelm those who have lost so much, for promises to be fulfilled, for the most calloused hearts to be drawn to the Creator, and for His glory to shine through the many seemingly hopeless situations.

I pray that each day I, along with my children, family and friends, will see the small miracles of beauty that God surrounds us with in His creation. May we never be so busy that we can not stop, breathe and take it all in. They are everywhere… and they are beautiful!

Job 5:9 says, “He performs wonders that cannot be fathomed, miracles that cannot be counted.”

Psalm 77:14 says, “You are the God who performs miracles; you display your power among the peoples.”

God is the same yesterday, today and forever! What He did thousands of years ago He can still do today! That same power that made the blind see… that made the lame walk… that raised Jesus from the dead… is alive, strong and available for us all!

So I choose faith! I choose hope! I choose to look each and every day for the miracles I believe He is accomplishing, and pray others will see what a powerful, Almighty God He is… For He is awesome!

Will you join me? Will you choose a personal word for your own life? A word that will become a part of who you are? A word that will affect the decisions you make… that will help keep your focus throughout the rest of this year… that will inspire you, guide you, and stretch you as an individual?

I would love to know your “Word”… please leave me a comment below. Feel free to share a bit of your journey and what that word means to you!!

May you find the beauty in today,

Tara ♥

“He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~ Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~♥

Recent entries from my gratitude journal: (to read more about this, click here):

238. Field full of geese.

247. A blanket of snow!

269. A fun day with my daughter!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Word Up!

  1. Excellent words, Tara. Thanks for posting this. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Ain’t No Mountain High Enough! | createdtobebeautiful

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

