Rescue Heroes

Have you ever been in a life or death situation and needed to be rescued?

I have….

Many years ago when my third child was much younger, he loved playing with a line of toys called “Rescue Heroes”. It was a great concept; the figurines were everyday heroes such as firemen, police officers, paramedics, etc…. I love heroes that are normal, everyday people; those who willingly choose to put their own lives at risk to save the life of another.

Everyone loves a good rescue story, don’t they? We sit on the edge of our seats in the movie theaters, watch the dramatic stories play out on the evening news stations, and we love to read the words that are so poetically written as the knight in shinning armor rescues the beautiful damsel in distress.

But what about the story before the rescue? Many times it is by chance or just being in the wrong place at the wrong time. However, there are other times when we place ourselves in the situation in which we need to be rescued… physically, mentally, spiritually or emotionally, we become our own self-destructive force that is in desperate need of a “Rescue Hero”!

You see, my life or death situation was my own entangled web that was spinning out of control. It was all about me… my life; my choices; my pride; my way. I was self-destructing and hurting those I loved the most! I needed to be rescued from me! I needed a “God-sized” rescue, and unfortunately it took the crash of my marriage and life as I knew it before I finally reached up for the ultimate “Rescue Hero”: The One… The God of the universe.

Why is it that it sometimes takes such pain and life-changing events before we are willing to look to God and do things His way?

It has been said that a person will stay the same until the pain of staying the same is greater than the pain of change.

On July 4, 2009, I was finished! No more Tara’s way… the pain was too great.  It was time for a change! It was an eternal life or death situation, so I laid it all at the Cross and chose to live completely for Jesus. He reached down from Heaven and rescued me on that dreadful, yet beautiful day.

Where are you today? Are you in a situation in which you need rescue? Have you become your own self-destructive force by the choices and decisions you have made, or are still making?

Do you know of someone who is in desperate need of rescue? I sure do….

It is always difficult to watch those you care about walk that path. We know where they are headed. More than likely, it will not end well; there will be pain, frustration and heartache. We can try to stop them, but they probably will not listen. We want to shout at them, wave the flags, and sound the alarm! But they are determined, selfish and prideful… so we watch, pray and trust the Almighty God to quickly become their Rescue Hero.

Jesus, God in the flesh, became our Ultimate Rescue Hero when He willingly chose to give up His life on a cross for each and every one of us. He became human so He could take our place, overcome death, and give us everlasting life. But we have to be willing to trust, believe and accept His grace, forgiveness and redemption. A person can not be rescued until they reach out their hand towards their rescuer. They have to make the choice…

I have recently found a new band that I LOVE!!! The Rhett Walker band has a southern rock sound with amazing lyrics that speak of God’s mercy and grace. Their latest release, “When Mercy Found Me”, is basically the story of my life and the story of so many lives I know…. It is also my prayer for many others that I hold dear to my heart.

In one moment, everything can change for each and every one us. God’s mercy can wash us clean, and we can become a new creation in Him… we can be rescued from our destructive selves and start a beautiful new life filled with love, purpose and so much joy! I promise… just reach out your hand… The Ultimate Rescue Hero is waiting!

One of my favorite passages that has come to me during the journey of my last three years (too many times to count) is Psalm 40:

“I waited patiently for the Lord; He turned to me and heard my cry. 

He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire;

He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.

He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God.

Many will see and fear and put their trust in the Lord.

Blessed is the man who makes the Lord his trust, who does not look to the proud, to those who turn aside to false gods.

Many, O Lord my God, are the wonders you have done. The things you planned for us no one can recount to you; were I to speak and tell of them, they would be too many to declare.

Sacrifice and offering you did not desire, but my ears you have pierced; burnt offerings and sin offerings you did not require. 

Then I said, “Here I am, I have come- it is written about me in the scroll. 

I desire to do your will, O my God; your law is within my heart.”

I proclaim righteousness in the great assembly; I do not seal my lips, as you know, O Lord.

I do not hide your righteousness in my heart; I speak of your faithfulness and salvation.  I do not conceal your love and your truth from the great assembly.

Do not withhold your mercy from me, O Lord; may your love and your truth always protect me. For troubles without number surround me; my sins have overtaken me, and I cannot see. They are more than the hairs of my head; and my heart fails within me.

Be pleased, O Lord, to save me; O Lord, come quickly to help me. 

May all who seek to take my life be put to shame and confusion; may all who desire my ruin be turned back in disgrace.

May those who say to me, “Aha! Aha!” be appalled at their own shame. But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you; may those who love your salvation always say, “The Lord be exalted!”

Yet I am poor and needy; may the Lord think of me. You are my help and my deliverer; O my God, do not delay.

If you or someone you know desperately needs to be rescued, I pray that you will see the beautiful rescue of the Ultimate Rescue Hero!

May you find the beauty in today,

Tara ♥

“He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~ Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~♥

Recent entries from my gratitude journal: (to read more about this, click here):

156. Storms… that bring such joy to my boys!!

162. Revelation 12:11

168. Baby footprints on the back deck!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rescue Heroes

  1. Anonymous says:

    Very good Tara– I love you & thank God for what He has done in your life! Mom

  2. Keith Blanford says:

    Very good Tara.  I love you & thank God for what He has done in your life.  Mom

  3. rachturner says:

    This is crazy good and so timely. Thank you, sweet friend, for sharing your heart this way!

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

