I. Am. Sorry.

~Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heal that has crushed it.~ (Mark Twain)

I.Am.Sorry….

There. I said it. It is out in the open for the whole world to read. Three little words that I hope will have a profound impact. I am very flawed; I am very human. I make mistakes… many of them. I have good intentions, but I get sidetracked. I say things I shouldn’t. I have hurt people… even unintentionally. I have let people down… especially those closest to me. I will never live up to the expectations that everyone puts on me or that I put upon myself. So,  for all this and more, to everyone I have offended in some way or another, and to myself… I am truly sorry.

Forgiveness. Why is it so hard for us to forgive? We want others to forgive us, but it always seems more difficult when we are on the other side. During my journey over the last few years, God has really worked on my heart towards other people. He has asked me to forgive others… even the ones who have really hurt me. He has asked me to let go of all the petty, insignificant issues that can cause strain within my relationships. Some people have been easy to forgive… some have been very difficult. The one that stares back at me from the mirror has been the hardest yet.

It is usually the most challenging to forgive those closest to us… our family, our inner circle of friends, our spouse…. Is it because they are the ones who have seen our true inner selves? They are the ones in whom we have placed our complete trust and confidence? They are the ones who are suppose to love us unconditionally and give us the crutch on which to lean when our desperate selves cry out for someone to help us.  So when they hurt us or do something wrong, is the cut deeper? Is the wound more painful? Does it heal more slowly?

Why can’t we just let go? Let go of the anger, the frustration and the bitterness that fills the unforgiving heart? The unforgiven becomes the owner… to our emotions and our actions. We give up our own power and place it into the hands of another.

Forgiveness is a choice. It is not really about the other person, nor is it about the offense that was committed. It is about us. It is about Him. How can we be expect to be forgiven if we ourselves can not forgive? Oh, it may not be easy, but it is commanded. When we forgive, when we choose to forgive, we are truly free. No longer can the offender control our bitter hearts and frustrated emotions. We can begin to see others with grace,  knowing that we are all very flawed people living in a very flawed world. We all make mistakes. We all need forgiveness.

~Forgiveness doesn’t make the other person right, it makes you free.~ (Stormie Omartian)

Life is difficult. We will encounter many hurts and disappointments as we travel down our individual paths, and many times we will be the offender. None of us are promised tomorrow. I know that sounds so cliche… yet it is so very true. Maybe it was my own near death experience last year… maybe it has taken me losing that which was closest to me… maybe it has been the numerous deaths I have discovered recently of people taken far too soon, thinking their journey still had many more twists, turns and hills ahead of them. But I want to forgive… I want to be forgiven.

Please do not get me wrong. I do not believe that we should just sweep everything under the rug. I do not believe we should let every issue be dismissed. There are times when accountability is needed as well as apologies. There are times when we need to turn away from the things that hurt the people in our lives, be courageous enough to swallow our pride and do what is right. We are to forgive, but sometimes the scars will not let us forget. May we remember however that repentance is not due to us as individuals… but rather to the Holy God we all have offended. At that moment… He offers us undeserved grace.

We are here, on God’s beautiful green and blue planet, for but a brief moment. Do we really have time to keep our hearts hardened? Can we not just lay aside our hurts, lay aside our pride, and forgive others so that we can experience the joy that freedom can bring? Our lives can change in an instant… may we not leave our journeys with unbestowed grace. There is so much beauty to be seen in the relationships that can be healed. May we each take that step into freedom.

Forgiveness

by Brenda Terrell

When a hurtful word is spoken 
Or an unkind deed is done 
I always must remember 
I am not the only one 
Who has ever been mistreated 
Stepped upon or pushed aside 
By thoughtless harmful actions 
Or selfish hateful pride. 

The world is full of people 
Who purposely abuse 
Who lie and cheat and slander 
And manipulate and use 
Anyone and everyone 
Who might get in their way 
Of success or fame or power; 
No price too big to pay.

God’s word is clear and simple 
About what I must do 
When I have been offended 
By friend or foe’s misuse: 
“Forgive…and be forgiven” 
I dare not keep a score– 
Seventy times seven 
Times seven hundred more. 

When I am unforgiving, 
The battle I’ll not win; 
For I need my Father’s mercy 
To blot out all my sin. 
Forgiving is not easy 
Yet I know it can be done: 
I look to Christ my Savior, 
The Holy, Sinless One.

When Jesus died upon the cross 
His words rang clear and true, 
“Father, please forgive them, 
For they know not what they do.” 
As the Precious Lamb of God 
Christ wants me to see: 
Forgiving is the power 
That sets my spirit free! 
Forgiveness is God’s wondrous gift 
That sets my spirit free!

May you find the beauty in today,

Tara ♥

“He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~ Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~♥

Recent entries from my gratitude journal: (to read more about this, click here)

54. Forks in the road… requiring trust in a Sovereign God

65. Winter wonderland of white

67. Blogging friends

82. Baby’s scrunched up nose during laughter

85. Pond of glass reflecting beautiful creation

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

