The God is Good!

“Gratitude bestows reverence,

allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies,

those transcendent moments of awe

that change forever how we experience life and the world.”

(Sarah Ban Breathnach)

Charis. Grace.

Eucharisteo. Thanksgiving.

Chara. Joy.

The God is Good!

One day a few weeks back, as I was driving alone in my car, I began to pray to God. It was a bit of a different prayer; out of the ordinary. As the scenery flickered passed me I became overwhelmed. The beauty of life was everywhere… so I began to speak it.

“Thank you Lord, for the beautiful day with the blue sky and sun shining brightly.

The God is good.

Thank you for birds flying above me and the geese swimming in the waters below.

The God is good.

My oldest, home from college, and my four children, once again under one roof.

The God is good.”

At this point, my eyes began to fill with tears as the smile widened across my face.

“The lungs are full of air, the heart has rhythm, the soul has an eternity…

Oh, the God is good.

There is love… so much love being felt! Peace that surrounds. Joy that flows.

And the God is good.

Prayers are still being prayed. Guidance is still being sought…

But The God is good.

Although there are bills unpaid and questions being asked…

The God is good.”

The tears began to stream down my face.

Forks are in the road and hills are still being climbed…

But the GOD is Good!

Forgiveness… that word we want to receive but have a hard time expressing towards others… it is available for us all.

The GOD is Good!

The cross where the blood was shed.

The GOD is Good!

Grace. My daughter’s middle name; yet it has a meaning so much greater once realized how undeserved it is.

And the GOD IS GOOD!”

My prayer continued as well as the tears. I was overwhelmed by just how Good He is and how undeserving we are.

“All I have seen teaches me to trust the Creator for all I have not seen.”

(Ralph Waldo Emerson)

In the summer of 2009, I lost many things that were important to me. Since that time, I have learned how to be thankful for what I have. I have learned to not take those closest to me for granted, and how to cherish each and every day of this life I have been given. I can assure you… it was a tough, painful lesson. I now see things through opened eyes. I now am thankful for my very breath… along with each blessing that has been given to me by The Creator and those around me.

I recently read the book One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp; it is life changing. It has helped me to realize I can go even further still with my gratitude and thankfulness to God, even in the most mundane or difficult of circumstances.

I could not stop underlining the beautiful words she had written as they continued to jump off the page. Her poetic verse draws you into each of her stories as you experience them with her. You want to cry. You want to stop and savor the moment. You want to feel what her heart feels and experience that Eucharisteo that she feels.

Through her reflections you learn to be grateful in every situation… how to live fully right where you are. You learn to be thankful for the little things you so often overlook. You learn to live in the present. You begin to see just how good our God truly is.

You learn to find the beauty that is everywhere; the countless gifts that God has given for us to enjoy each and every moment of each and every day.

You begin to count them, numbering them in a journal. The numbers continue to increase, as does your heart; you realize just how much love is bestowed by This Creator.

“The one thousand presents wake me to the presence of God-but more so, living eucharisteo, living in thanks, had done the far harder work of keeping me awake to Him. I began to see that nothing I am counts for anything-but all that I count of Him counts for everything-seeing eyes might illuminate the glory of Christ in all.” (Ann Voskamp)

Your life becomes one of gratitude. You look for the gifts each day, anxiously awaiting that next number. You stop. You breath it in deeply. You live in that moment as you whisper the words of thanksgiving to the heavens above. Your eyes are opened; you see with new vision.

Oh, sweet friends… the God is good!

I so encourage you to read the book… it might just change your life.

www.onethousandgifts.com

http://www.aholyexperience.com/ (Ann’s blog)

So… from this point forward, at the bottom of each of my blog posts, I will share just a few of my recent numbered thankful entries from my journal. I hope it will inspire you to start your own!

“Give thanks in all circumstances;

for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

(1 Thessalonians 5:18)

1. Full moon shining brightly through window panes in dark room while I rock baby late into the evening

11. Static electricity in blankets of winter’s heat

19. Hum of washing machine… filled with clothes

26. Seeing undiscovered world through baby’s fresh eyes

42. Flag proudly waving in cold winter’s breeze

May you find the beauty in today,

Tara ♥

“He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~ Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~♥

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The God is Good!

  1. liveandlaughwithjesus says:
  2. rachturner says:

    This is beautiful, Tara! You have a poet’s heart. It is one thing to walk a smooth path and praise God. It is something entirely different to to praise him in the midst of heavy, personal trials. You are a walking witness to the goodness of God!

    • Thank you, Rachel. The same could be said of you… you are a strong woman who has found her strength and praise in the Creator during your difficult trial. May others be strengthened by your encouraging example!! Thanks for the comment!! 🙂

  3. Mike Fisk says:

    Thanks for the reminder Tara. God is good, and loving, and merciful and graceful and forgiving. Even when we are not! God Bless!
    Mike

    • Absolutely, Mike! Why do so many of us run from His goodness, His love, His mercy, His grace and His forgiveness. He just patiently waits for us… why do we sometimes make it so difficult? Thanks stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  4. Beautiful.
    {I love Ann too}

  5. download 300 says:

    After exploring a number of the articles on your web page, I really like your technique of writing a blog.

    I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back in
    the near future. Please check out my web site as well and
    tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

