Free Giveaway (I’m doing the happy dance!!)

CONGRATULATIONS to Rachel Turner… winner of the Courageous movie dvd. (please message me your address and I will mail this out today!!) Thanks to everyone for reading and I appreciate the comments that were left!! πŸ™‚

Oh, yeah… today is “Free Giveaway Day” as I was chosen this past week by Focus on the Family as the recipient of the newly released movie, Courageous, Β to be given away via my blog!! Whoohoo!! I am doing the happy dance!! (hopefully no one was looking)

~To be entered in the random drawing, please leave me a comment (at the end of this post). I would love to hear any stories about how the Courageous movie has affected your family or about a Courageous man you know! If you already own a copy of the movie, feel free to enter anyway and you can pay it forward to someone else! Contest ends at midnight on Tuesday, January 31, 2012. Be sure and check back that Wednesday morning, February 1, 2012, to see if your name was drawn!

Since I am giving away a movie that boldly speaks about the role of the father in a child’s life, I feel I once again need to address this issue. (Click here to read my previous post) Last year my daughter wrote her personal narrative on the pain she experienced as her father walked away from his marriage and family.Β My daughter’s writing was published in her high school’s Spectrum which is a 300+ page, bound publication of significant writings from that year. I sat down this week and began to read some of the other pieces that were submitted. I was shocked and brought to tears as I read story after story of how deeply affected so many of the teens had been due to their parent’ separations or divorces… most of them were angry and extremely hurt by their fathers; it seemed to be the underlying theme. Each life was shattered… each heart was broken… And there was my Savannah’s piece, right in the middle. Once again, her story brought me to tears as the scars began to bleed and I relived the painful memories and emotions through her words.

Β I am not posting the narrative that my daughter wrote. Although she did give me permission to do so, she insisted that the article in its entirety be allowed. However, I felt there were a few parts that were just too personal to share at this point in our journey… maybe a later date would be better. I am quoting just a few of her statements that will allow your heart to feel some of the agony that many children experience when a parent leaves the home and family.

A few tearful words from my teenage daughter:

“I felt the guilt of the broken family, even though I did nothing wrong. I began to believe no one could relate to me, I felt alone.”

“The day he left was the day my life became a living hell. A lonely, heart-wrenching, never ending journey.”

“The days dragged on; the months lengthened, the pain remained overwhelming. My school grades dropped; my athletic ability dragged; my body weakened. Life felt unbearable, and no matter how hard I tried, I could not shake the agony. Nothing I did or said would convince my father to come home, but I continued to long for my family, and for my parents’ love to rekindle.”

“I stopped answering my dad’s phone calls; I stopped sending him texts; I stopped seeing the face of betrayal”

“…I refused to be a statistic, but I became closer than I realized. 63% of youth suicides, 90% of all homeless and runaway children, 71% of all high school dropouts and 85% of all youths sitting in prisons grew up in a fatherless home. Because my father left I am 6.6 times more likely to become a teenage mother and 33 times more likely to be seriously abused. “

“The one who held me first when I came out of my mother’s womb, the one who raised me as a daddy’s girl, and lectured me on the evil ways of men. The same man that would kiss my forehead every night as he laid me down to bed, was once again, gone.”

Such sad words and frustrated emotions.

My poor daughter and sons…

The deep wounds and scars that will Β forever be a part of their lives…

The baggage they will now carry with them into their own marriages…

I posted her honest words with the hope of saving just one family… just one son or daughter. If you are a father or a mother who is entertaining thoughts of leaving or taking that next step towards an affair… just don’t do it! Turn around and run; don’t walk, run towards home. Have the courage to do what is right and fight for your spouse and your children. God is always right there with you. He will guide and strengthen you to become Courageous; full of character, integrity and honor!

There is such beauty when relationships are healed and families are restored; when we stand our ground, live out our roles and love our spouses and children with complete and self-sacrificing abandon… the way we are loved by our Almighty, Heavenly Father.

May you find the beauty in today,

Tara β™₯

~A special Thank You to Focus on the Family for donating the Courageous Movie~

“He has made everything beautiful in its time”Β (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~ Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~β™₯

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Free Giveaway (I’m doing the happy dance!!)

  1. planejaner says:

    Reblogged this on Just Jane Now and commented:
    Please “meet” my fellow writer-friend, Tara. She’s been chosen by Focus on the Family to give away a copy of the movie “Courageous”. Leave a comment on her blog after reading her post, and you might win the copy!

    Tara has walked a difficult path, her children with her. She has a lot to say about family, marriage, forgiveness, parenting, and the love of God. She is filled with a quiet grace and dignity.

    I hope you’ll take a moment to read, and leave a comment for her on her blog, entering you to win a copy of Courageous! (I still haven’t seen it…thinking I might be ready, now…)

    Blessings
    Jane

  2. planejaner says:

    Tara–I LOVE YOU. I am so thankful God has given you such grace to share your story. I pray you continue to find God, everyday, leading the way for you and your children. He is faithful, and loves us so much. He is the Great Healer, the Lifter of our heads.

    Blessings, (and enter me in the drawing! :))
    Jane

  3. kim peek says:

    I would love to win a copy of courageous. Thanks

    Kim

  4. flyinggmane says:

    Thank you for expressing what everyone knows but never says. “The kids are not OK!!!!!!” Most of them don’t have the words to express their feelings of hurt, agony and anguish. Praying for healing and restoration for your family and the countless ones just like yours. Jeanne

    I haven’t seen Courageous but heard it is an awesome movie.

    • Thank you Jeanne! And you are right… the kids are not okay! They change, they harden… it has been very difficult to watch my own children along with many others that I know as they have had to endure this path. They didn’t ask for this. Their families, their lives, their security… all turned upside down into something unfamiliar. The only thing we can do is cover them in prayer. May God draw them to Him, and may His Grace and Love fill each of their broken hearts with His healing!

      Oh, and btw… Courageous is awesome! You’ll cry, you’ll laugh… cry some more and then laugh again! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! πŸ™‚

      • flyinggma says:

        Had a chance to watch Courageous on Saturday with my husband, daughter and grandson. It was an awesome movie. I would love to know what was going through my 20 year old’s mind as she watched. She is a single mom with a two year old and wants little or nothing to do with my grandson’s father. She does allow him to be with the father every other Saturday from 10-5. Jeanne

  5. rachturner says:

    Beautiful and heart-wrenching at the same time. Your daughter has your gift with words. I haven’t seen Courageous, but hope to soon. I’m putting up a blog post about courage in the morning with a link to your contest! πŸ™‚

  6. Stacy Reeps says:

    Wow….I read your words and it makes me reflect back to the pain of my own divorce…..even though I was the one who chose to leave and God has restored goodness in my life – the scars remain. I see it in all the broken pieces – a man who was once suicidal and is still on the run, and not involved in his childrens’ lives other than a phone call or visit here or there…..a daughter who is pregnant and in a very unhealthy relationship, a son who cannot get past some of the choices I made before the Lord brought me back to restoration – and no, they are not okay, and even though there is beauty from some of the ashes, I can’t go back and undo what was done. I’m sure I don’t even know the depths of the pain I caused, or the pain their dad continues to cause –

    I’ve not yet seen the movie Courageous, but I want to. I’ve heard good things about it, and I am grateful God has blessed me with a husband who has stepped in to father children who are not his own – who is a role model, who loves them and is committed to God and family. In my eyes, especially on the hard days, he IS courageous.

    Always love your posts, Tara – God has truly gifted you with an ability to write.

    • Oh, Stacy… my heart was breaking as I read your comment not even realizing who had written it. When I was finished I looked to the side and realized those pain, tear-filled words were from you. I am so, so sorry for all that you have been through and all the issues you are still dealing with today. I know God has done some amazing things in your life and that He has given you a very courageous man who is helping to fill in the gaps within your children’s lives. Pain and heartbreak can take a very long time to heal. None of us, within your family or mine, will ever be the same. We all have many, many scars. But God’s Grace, His Love and His Forgiveness are sooo much bigger than all of it! He can make something so beautiful out of your life and your children’s lives, but unfortunately, it takes time….. Just keep trusting that He loves your children even more than you do! Praying for you and your beautiful family! You are very dear to my heart!! πŸ™‚ Oh… and, you need to watch the movie!! You won’t be disappointed!!! πŸ™‚

  7. Oh how I felt the pain of your daughter’s words. My two oldest daughters would say similar statements about my divorce and after ten years, I felt the hurt like it was brand new. Lord, help us all to honor you right where we are and equip are daughters for marriages that don’t end in divorce.

    • Shannon… so sorry to hear that about your daughters! The pain is so real for our girls even though yours were so much younger than mine; the heartbreak is still there. I just read “your story” and it sounds like you and your daughters (all four are absolutely beautiful, by the way!!) now have a wonderful man in your lives as your husband and their father. That is a great prayer… that God will help us “equip our daughters for marriages that don’t end in divorce!” I will be praying that as well!! Thanks for the comment! πŸ™‚

  8. Pingback: Courage Does Not Always Roar « Blessings in Disguise

  9. Pam says:

    Our church celebrated New Years Eve with a showing of Courageous. When the movie ended, the question was asked, “Are you willing to be a man of courage and lead your family?” It was very moving to see men stand up all over the room and make a commitment before God and those in attendance to lead their families. Each one signed a resolution and were given a frame to hang it in a place of prominence in their homes. Very moving!

    I am so blessed to have a husband who is a man of courage and is willing to stand up and fight for and protect our family. He is a men’s ministry leader in our church and hears many, many stories of brokenness in families. He spends much time counseling, praying for, and encouraging these men to walk the courageous walk and lead their families in God’s ways. My prayer is that men across this country will stand up and be courageous!

    Thanks for the chance to win a copy of the movie here on your blog : )

    Sweet Blessings,
    Pam

    • Pam, that is so awesome!! I love how men are standing up all over the country (and now the world as the movie is being released in other countries) and saying “I Will!”. I even heard stories of men standing up in the theaters during that ending scene as the audience around them applauded… I am sure there were many tears in the eyes surrounding them!!

      And yes, you are very blessed to have that courageous husband in your life… it sounds like God is really using him not just in your family but outside your walls into your church and community.

      It is my prayer as well, that men across the country will stand up and be courageous… it is time for us to take back our marriages and our families!!

      Thanks for stopping by to read and for the comment!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

