From Cowardly Lion to King of the Jungle

Courage begins with the first step…

This past Thursday I took my three teenagers and sweet baby to see the new movie, Courageous. I am sure the people around me visualized the worst case scenario of a screaming baby during the endearing, tearful scenes… yet, he was as quiet as a mouse. I had been anticipating the opening of this movie for almost two years; I knew the message would be one for all to hear. Yes, the movie was made by a church in Albany, Georgia… Yes, Christian themes and dialog intertwined throughout the entire script… and Yes, I had three teenagers who were very skeptical when walking through the front doors of the movie theater. The beginning may have been a little slow… but as the movie ended, only one thought entered my mind, “Wow! That was powerful!” Even my boys (who are more of your Lord of the Rings kind of audience) said it was actually a pretty good movie…

Oh, the role of a father.

Over the last two years, I have raised my children on my own. It has been a struggle in so many ways as I have had to be mom (a role I have learned over the last 18 1/2 years) and dad (a role I can not even begin to understand). I see the world through my feminine, creative, colorful eyes… I can only share with my children that which I know. I can not fill the role of “father”… I just can’t. That is not who I was created to be. I was not given the masculine, protector instinct that gives children such security. I can not guide my boys into adulthood to become God-loving men of honor, character and integrity. I can not model the attributes of a man that my daughter needs to see so she will seek out those same characteristics in her future husband. No matter how hard I try, I just can not be that to my children…

“Every father should remember that one day his son will follow his example instead of his advice.” (Author unknown)

We as a nation… as a people, need men to step up and fulfill the roles for which they were designed. To be men after God’s own heart… to love, honor and cherish their wives ’till parted by death… to lead and guide their families… to never walk away from their children. Imagine what could happen. Churches seem to be crying out to God for revival within our broken country. Really? We need to cry out to God for revival within our broken families! We need courageous men who will take back their roles within the home! Save themselves, their wives and their children. When that happens, it will permeate into the churches… then the communities, the states… our nation. How can we beg for God to fix the problems outside of the “Church” when the walls are crumbling from within?

I encourage each of you to see the movie. Take with you the men in your life, from young to old. It won’t be the 75 million dollar budget, Hollywood glamorized show with an over-paid, star-studded cast like many others you have seen. However, it will be moving… thought provoking… and possibly heart changing. Oh, and don’t forget to take some tissue with you! There will be many moments of both tears and laughter perfectly intertwined throughout the story.

“I don’t feel like I started well. I want to finish well.”

(Adam Mitchell, Courageous 2011)

It is never too late! It does not matter how many mistakes we have made as parents (oh, my list is so very long…). Courage to take that first step will make all the difference! It is never too late for us to step up and be the father or mother that God intended us to be… it is never too late for us to admit to our children that we have made mistakes but are resolved to make things right… it is never too late to heal a wounded or broken relationship… It is never too late for any of us to “finish well”! There is such beauty in courage… in the willingness to stand up and fight for those you love. There is such beauty when cowardly lions take their positions as kings of the jungle!

(see below for some resource links)

May you find the beauty in today,

Tara ♥

“He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~ Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~♥

The Movie: http://www.courageousthemovie.com/

The Book: http://www.amazon.com/Courageous-Novel-Randy-Alcorn/dp/1414358466/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1318298186&sr=1-1 

The Resolution for Men: http://www.amazon.com/Resolution-Men-Stephen-Kendrick/dp/1433671220/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1318298326&sr=8-1

The Resolution for Women: http://www.amazon.com/Resolution-Women-Priscilla-Shirer/dp/1433674017/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1318298326&sr=8-2

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to From Cowardly Lion to King of the Jungle

  1. Mike Fisk says:

    Thanks for this post. I have a special appreciation for mom’s who try to fill the role that us men are supposed to fill. Unfortunately single moms and ‘married’ moms have to do this! How can we tell our children we have a loving heavenly Father when our fathers fall so far short. The good news is that Grace can fill much of that void. Just keep loving your kids as you do and keep praying! Thanks again.

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Mike! It is very difficult to teach them about how much God the Father loves them so dearly when the only “father” they have known on earth has wounded them so deeply. I admit… it is difficult to trust Him (God) and believe His love is completely unconditional and never failing. My prayer is that God will just lovingly continue to draw my children to Him… this is not an overnight, quick fix for them as deep wounds require a long healing process. But like you said, Grace is always there… Thanks for reading! 🙂

  2. Pam says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, and I’m so glad you did! I’ve taken a few moments to read about you on your blog, and I’m inspired. There is no doubt HIS sustaining grace and power is how you walk each day. HIS power is made perfect in your weakness. May you always remember it is sufficient (II Corinthians 12:7-9).

    Courageous is on our “must see” list! Love your post about it!

    Sweet Blessings,
    Pam

    • Thanks so much Pam for your encouraging words!!! I couldn’t make it through a day without God’s sustaining grace, power and strength!!! BTW… Love, love, love “Courageous”!! Praying it will impact this and future generations… it is powerful!!! 🙂

  3. Deborah says:

    I just read your blog entry “From Cowardly Lion to King of the Jungle” It so hit home as I raised my older 4 children alone, now all grown with children of their own. I had trouble telling my children that we have a loving Father in Heaven who loves and cares for us, as my own father was abusive and my children father walked out on them. Even though I was a Christan, It took awhile before I could trust God to take care of things and realize He is a loving Father who care so deeply for us and would not let us fail and never let us down. He has his own timing for things and He will lift us up when it’s time if we learn to trust in him. Even when things are falling apart around us if we trust in him we will be able to look back and see where he was with us all the time.

    • Absolutely Deborah! How very difficult that must have been to try and explain to your children that their Heavenly Father loves them after what you personally experienced and then what they had to walk through as well… What courage you must have had to raise those four children!! It sounds like God has brought you to a place of trust and healing. I pray your children will break the “cycle” and overcome their past of growing up in a broken home without their father. If only fathers could realize just how much of an impact they have on the delicate lives of their children… Thank you so much for reading and for your comment!! God Bless you and your family! 🙂

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

