Let the Rain Fall

It is raining outside…

Have you ever just sat quietly, alone and listened to the rain? Usually we are too busy and distracted with our to-do lists that we do not take a few moments to just enjoy the simplicity of a rain shower. My boys, especially my oldest, love the rain! They can sit outside on the front porch listening and watching the drops fall from the sky for hours! They especially love a good thunderstorm and lightning show!! Usually, I only like the rain when I am inside and do not have to leave the house. Actually, I like the house to be cool and for me to be snuggled under my down comforter taking a nap with the slight echo of raindrops hitting the pane glass windows. If I have to be outside during the rain or storm, now that is a different story… unless I am in the shower, tub, pool or ocean, I do not like to be wet (no amusement park water rides for this girl)!!! So it never fails that during the most torrential downpours, I am out and about… usually without my oversized umbrella! I see nothing but wet clothes, frizzy hair, runny make-up and a frustrated attitude in my future. I think I need a new, fresh perspective to “rain down” upon me….

I need to stop and enjoy the rain… appreciate it… embrace it. Yes, it can be an inconvenience at times, but the results are indescribable. Tonight, I stopped for a few moments to gaze upon the rose bushes in front of my house… they were covered with rain droplets; they were beautiful! Rain does not only posses a beauty of its own, but it helps to bring to life beautiful things! Without the rain, there would be no rainbow, no green grass, no beautiful flowers. But lets go deeper into our thoughts. What about the rain in our lives? The trials, the never ending obstacles, the pain, the heartache? Isn’t everything more beautiful after the rainfall? We seem to appreciate things in such a greater capacity after the trial… oh, the downpours can seem endless and bring such misery… but the sun always comes out again… it always shines through as the darkest clouds begin to part. I believe that allows us to appreciate it so much more; to be grateful for that momentary or sometimes flooding rain that happens in our lives…. it is necessary to bring out the beautiful result.

If I am remembering correctly, there is a scene in the movie The Shawshank Redemption where the main character has just escaped the prison cell in which he lived for many years as an innocent victim. He is standing there, in the middle of a downpour of rain, looking upward with his arms out… just smiling. Oh…. if we could all do that. When God allows the rain in our lives, could we be so trusting in Him and confident that He knows what He is doing that we will embrace it… knowing it bring blessings and beauty in the end. In Romans 8:28,  God promises that ALL things  work together for good to those who love Him. So today, even through the pain, heartache and uncertainty this world can bring us, let us embrace and learn to appreciate the rain…. for if we truly love God, we will not be washed away by it, but rather, we will see the blessing and beauty that are produced from the droplets all around us.

So forget the umbrella and running to the car, the next time it rains, I want to stop… go outside, hold out my arms and look to the sky with a smile on my face… thanking God for the rain in my life… for I know He is making something beautiful that will shine through as those dark clouds start to part!

Listen to the words of this beautiful song… might need to have some tissue readily available: Blessings by Laura Story

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4mmgV6mPvb0&feature=related

“I will make them and the places surrounding my hill a blessing.[a] I will send down showers in season; there will be showers of blessing.” (Ezekiel 34:26, NIV)

May you find the beauty in today,

 TARA ♥

“He has made everything beautiful in its time” (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

~Leave me a comment, I would love to read YOUR thoughts~
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let the Rain Fall

  1. rachturner says:

    Laura Story’s song holds very special meaning for me. My brother-in-law passed away unexpectedly in June – the same week I was diagnosed with lymphoma. My family was literally sucker-punched and then I heard this song…. There’s so much hope in the words. What IF our blessings come through raindrops?? You and I are not walking paths we would have chosen for ourselves, but if we keep watching, and believing, I’m positive we will be blessed along the way.

    • Absolutely! You seem to have such a positive outlook. My kids keep saying I am too optimistic… but it isn’t optimism, it is assuredness in God and His promises! He promises to turn our situations around for good if we will love Him… so we have to believe Him. You are right, I would never have chosen this path for myself! I can assure you when I graduated high school with my big plans for the rest of my life, this was not on the list!! But I have to say… despite the pain, I wouldn’t trade this journey with God for anything in the world… it has been amazing! I look forward to following your blog and I will add you to my prayer journal! May we both experience miracles and God’s blessings “immeasurably more than all we could ask or imagine!” (Ephesians 3:20-21a)

Leave a Reply... What are your thoughts?

